And with impossibilium for a payload…

Okay, so I’m getting the hang of this blog idea. I’m guessing still only f&f reading (thanks all) but I have decided to make this a bit of a ‘journey’ through the whole aforementioned kids n’ writing thing.

So, it could either end up as a hugely embarassing Don Quixote type adventure or perhaps a heartwarming success story for the little guy.

Anyway, it’s been quite a long and tricky process. Questions such as ‘how to draw a squirrel sweeping a cave’ or ‘how would a rabbit respond dramatically to this motivation’ have kept me awake and scribbling and rescribbling for quiet a few weeks/months now.

However, the manuscript is now done and the black and white layouts are all finished with about half of the book fully ‘finished’. Tomorrow I will submit to my first agency in the quest for legitimacy as a writer/illustrator.

In the meantime, I thought it might be of some interest to some to see a bit of the evolution of these things – from roughs to final layouts – so posted here are a few scans of some of the various drafts of one of my pages. Squirrels. Why did I even try squirrels? I must have drawn this page tens of times and am still not totally happy, but then – as those of you who know me best will agree – I am never THAT happy anyway…

Leave a Reply

